I am switching to Vim from Vs code.

I am switching to Vim from Vs code.

Hello there 👋,

Greetings, how is your day going🤔? Comment down👇

I am Saroj, A full-stack developer currently learning React Native and exploring the depths of the tech world. I love talking to communicating with people and learning and teaching to and from them.

It has been almost 4 years since I am writing the code. From hello world in HTML to hello world in servers to hello world in mobile to hello world in terminal to hello world in web, and even desktop applications. I can say I have quite a good experience in writing hello world on many platforms.

While in the process of learning to code, I have switched quite a lot of editors I have never fully used IDEs apart from once or twice when I had to do my school assignment using c# and Java.

Before explaining why I am switching to Vim, here are some past experiences with other Editors.

Notepad ++ :

The first editor I used was Notepad++ I remember I wrote a project which was a simple Html Project but at that time it was all I knew. Anyways the experience was better than Notepad with a little bit of syntax highlighting and the ability to open files in tabs and some suggestions popping here and there. I remember using an on-screen keyboard to complete the project since, the laptop that I borrowed from my brother for one night, had a broken keyboard. Imagine typing HTML, those angular brackets with the onscreen keyboard. It took me forever to complete the project, but when it was complete, I remember being praised by my classmates but I was scared to show it to my teacher. Since I was using CSS ( 🤫 that I copied from youtube ) and we were only studying types of heading fancy marquee tags in the class. I still remember our teacher who was struggling to add an image to the screen.

Anyways it was the one and only time I used Notepad++ for any projects. I don't recall using it in other projects.

Sublime Text :

When I got a laptop, in class 9 I had already learnt some HTML and was learning CSS by then. Sublime Text was the first editor that I used, almost for everything back then. The best thing about it was the colour theme, It was beautiful apart from that there is nothing that I recall Liking about it. Then, when I was following a tutor on youtube using another text editor, I was amazed and then I switched to....🤔

Atom :

Atom, the main reason that I switched to this editor was It had a feature was adding extensions. I loved it, mainly the live server. You might say it was also available in Sublime but my friend it was hidden inside a price tag. I still cannot afford to buy such things ( 🤫 Netflix is another topic ). So, I remember loving it. Yes, it was customizable but was not flexible as Vs code. And soon after learning more about coding in general I began to move towards, the almighty....

Vs code :

Vs code is by far the best editor that I have used, although I have not used all the editors in this world I think Vs code is counted among the top editors, both by popularity and usability.

I also like vs code, I use it daily, Its ability to be used in the cloud, sync setting, and being able to zoom in on text with the scroll wheel( My favourite 💓 ) are just amazing. I use it for every language from C++ to c# to web languages to React to React Native to writing servers.

It is my daily driver. And I love it.

So, why am I switching?

I am switching because I have heard a lot about Vim, How people are unable to quit it, and How they love it so much so, they don't use other editors.
And how it is hard to master, but once mastered it can make you faster. Imagine using keystrokes to navigate through the filesystem. And another reason is that It can be used in the terminal which means I will be mostly bound to use commands in general to do most of the things which is good, believe me, it is. When you have some server and have to do something with the files it can save you a ton of time.

Another big reason is that it looks cool to, mastering something while people are stuck asking on stack overflow, how to quit Vim 🤣. Anyways The thought of switching to Vim came when I saw a YouTuber name ThePrimeagen using Vim Lately, I am following him and he does pretty cool stuff like reading articles in the stream while laughing without any reason 🤣🤣, Dramatic reading of the tweets. Anyways jokes apart he is a good Developer and his back story motivates me a lot How he switched to Vim also motivates me to give Vim a try.

I will be updating you through this series about my thoughts regarding vim as a complete beginner to vim and I will be giving it at least 6 months so, I can evaluate what I can accomplish with and without it better.